steeeeeel

Yesterday, my class went on a field trip to a steel mill in a nearby town. While it was pretty cool to see molten steel as up close and personal as is physically safe, and stand and warm myself by rows and rows of cooling I-beams, tours of industry can only hold my attention for so long.

The real highlights include:

1) Aforementioned steel/fire/explosions

It was warm in here. And a little dusty.

2) Safety outfits

Goggles over glasses is a great look for me.

3) This guy leading us in a tour of nearby Osnabruck

What you can't see is that he's also wearing Birkenstocks with socks.

4) Learning about (and taking many) German shots with a salami/mustard/caper chaser

 

I'm going to start chasing all my liquor with cured meats.

I may not have learned exactly what the school wanted me to, but I learned nonetheless.

 

2 thoughts on “steeeeeel

  1. Kelly 16/11/2010 at 11:11 Reply

    I like your learnings.

  2. Shannon 16/11/2010 at 14:17 Reply

    haha…I concur with Kelly’s statement. Best closing line yet : )

Leave a Reply

