cheerio!

At my new job I work with British people. Even though I speak ‘English’, it is clear that I am not a native speaker at this job. Less than a month in and I’ve already been building a new vocabulary (some more socially appropriate than others) and learning the difference between Norwich and Newbury (and how to correctly pronounce them).

We’re doing some hiring in the coming months. I hope we get another American in here so I can talk to someone without having to interject with “I don’t know what that means” a few times a day.

For good measure, here’s a photo of the motley crew (an American, a German, an Aussie and 4 Brits) on our recent team building day. I didn’t get the memo that we would be eating lunch and dinner at nice establishments. Thrift store shorts for the win.


*yes the woman who sits next to me actually signs off phone calls with Cheerio! It sounds better when she says it than when I do.

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

