we’ll raise up our glasses against evil forces

In some parts of America, you will be hard-pressed to find a country music fan.

Outside of America, you would imagine that lovers of cowboy boots and bolo ties would be even more rare.

Not Monday night in Cologne. And I’m not talking about a scenario where every American for miles around came for this concert. I didn’t hear a single American aside from Toby Keith all night.

Despite the fact that clearly my phone takes the world’s worst pictures (especially while trying to take them with a beer in one hand and simultaneously singing along), you can clearly see the outlines of cowboy hats.

You can’t see (but I promise there were) hundreds of pairs of cowboy boots and more than one shirt like the following:

That’s stars on the right sleeve, stripes on the left sleeve.

Despite the fact that Toby didn’t sing Courtesy of the Red White and Blue (though I guess the excitement would have been lost on this crowd anyway) I had a rowdy time by myself in the back corner, singing along and trying to decide if the guy I was standing next to actually was Garth Brooks.


Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

