thanksgiving: teil eins

For the third time in six years, I found myself in Germany on Thanksgiving. Additionally, I spent all day sitting at a desk, not lounging around the house in my PJs until my mom made me ‘put real clothes on’ (overrated). While my Facebook feed was blowing up with updates about turkey and cranberry sauce, I was scanning through CVs (and watching the Macy’s parade via live stream…)

By the end of the day (6:30pm) I was ready to crawl into bed and sleep my Thanksgiving-less woes away. If not for my broken shower curtain, I would not have stopped at Kaufland and come out with:

  • Turkey breast
  • Green beans (with bacon!)
  • Corn
  • Mashed potatoes (instant)
  • Chocolate chip cookies
  • a 2€ bottle of bordeaux

Despite my greatest attempts to pretend that it was not an American holiday, and wait until my Thanksgiving dinner with Kelly and friends on Sunday, I  caved and had one by myself. With leftovers for today.

And then I Skyped my family after thoroughly enjoying that bottle of French wine. C’est la vie.

Happy Thanksgiving!

Turkey got a little burnt but it was still pretty good.

Tagged: , ,

One thought on “thanksgiving: teil eins

  1. rick 27/11/2011 at 16:11 Reply

    Looks like fun! Hope you had a nice day! Kiss!!!

Leave a Reply

