a BossHoss Thanksgiving

Whenever possible, I like to let Kelly document/blog about my expat life. Mostly because she has a better camera, and also she’s just about as witty/eloquent as I am so you would barely notice the difference anyway (possibly even wittier).

She was kind enough to invite me to her Frankfurt Thanksgiving celebration this year, for which I was thankful (hah) as I do not know any Americans in Cologne yet that I would enjoy spending a national holiday with. We felt particularly Pilgrim-ish (well, I did anyway) in that we cooked a lot more things (well, Kelly did, I was in more of a supervisory/taste-tester role) from scratch than most Thanksgivings generally require.

While we may not have had to hike up a mountain or eat mystery foods as a result of a German translation of Thanksgiving (as we did on our first Thanksgiving together many moons ago) we did discover Corn Snack, purchase a kilo of purple heirloom beans, and discover that Cream of Mushroom soup can easily be made without the aid of Campbells.

Here are the pictures I came away from the weekend with.

Corn Snack (not its actual name)

turns out you can roast a pumpkin to make pumpkin puree... another food that doesn't have to come from a can!

the beans

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

