shovels and rakes and implements of destruction

Technically, this is the first Thanksgiving dinner I’ve cooked on my own! KD is always eager to let me try out new recipes on him, and I daresay that I exceeded his Thanksgiving expectations.

We started with a simple beer bread, had faux green bean casserole (which could have used double the sauce) mashed potatoes and frozen turkey cutlets, for the sake of tradition. All smothered in a pack of McCormick Brown Gravy (not the best thing I’ve ever made but… authentic, at the very least.)

In my humble opinion, the piece de resistance was the Raspberry Cobbler, thrown together at the last minute in lieu of a more labor-intensive Raspberry Pie with the help of this recipe and a box of frozen berries (and, full disclosure, a few scoops of vanilla ice cream).

We listened to Adam and Arlo, Skyped my family and watched Big Daddy. Definitely not the worst Thanksgiving I’ve ever had.

Tagged:

One thought on “shovels and rakes and implements of destruction

  1. mary lou 24/11/2012 at 21:09 Reply

    Nice job, Mandy. The cobbler looks delish, maybe you can make it for us sometime. Happy Thanksgiving

Leave a Reply

