it’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas

It’s that time of year again, when little wooden huts crop up around Germany’s cities and people walk around with tiny cups of steaming beverages and buy Stollen by the kilo.

2012-12-01 16.20.35

Over the weekend I met up with some friends in Heidelberg, and while we did visit the Christmas market (albeit briefly) we also climbed up to the Schloss (using our expired student IDs to save 2 euros each) had some surprisingly delicious tex-mex for dinner, and ended the night in some of Heidelberg’s finest pubs.

2012-12-01 15.53.590

The next morning I literally gasped when I saw the fresh blanket of snow outside Ben’s apartment. I must concede that it is, in fact, winter around here.

2012-12-02 10.49.33

Last night, I made my maiden voyage to the Christmas markets in Cologne. My mission: a Flammlachs sandwich (salmon filet grilled over an open fire, a few bits of lettuce and a dollop of creme fraiche on a roll) which I had been craving probably since the day after I had one last year.

2012-12-04 19.57.010

After that was accomplished, we wandered around, enjoying some Feuerzangenbowle (though I let my tiny Zuckerhut burn and had to force down the ruined drink) deep-fried apple rings accompanied by hot Apfelwein, and finally capped off with Reibekuchen mit Apfelmus and a cup of Grog.

2012-12-04 20.05.21

Tagged: , , ,

2 thoughts on “it’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas

  1. Rick 05/12/2012 at 17:35 Reply

    you have too much fun

  2. Kelly 06/12/2012 at 09:48 Reply

    Individual Feuerzangenbowle mugs?! I have never seen this in my life and am in love. Also that sandwich looks a.maz.ing.

Leave a Reply

